Search WSPS.CA

Board of Directors

The strength and success of Workplace Safety & Prevention Services (WSPS) is backed by our volunteer board of directors. Consisting of 12 independent directors and our CEO its members represent a variety of industries and geographies across Ontario. Together the board provides oversight, insight, and foresight to WSPS operations.

Ajay Bhardwaj

Board Chair

WSPS board member Ajay Bhardwaj started his career working on Ergonomics consulting engagements in a variety of industries including utilities, textiles, automotive

View details >

Bonnie Rose

TSSA President and CEO

Bonnie is a seasoned executive with a passion for safety and in-depth knowledge and experience in technical standards.

View details >

Fred H. Burke

Audit, Finance and Technology Committee Chair

WSPS board member Fred H. Burke is an accomplished c-suite executive having over 30 years of experience within large and mid-sized private and public companies

View details >

Geeta Sharma

Director, Occupational Health, Safety, Wellness & Infection Prevention and Control (IPAC), Women’s College Hospital

Geeta's professional journey spans almost two decades of leading Environmental Health and Safety Management Systems.

View details >
Picture of Joanne Hay

Joanne Hay

Unifor National Health Safety and Environment

Joanne has more than 20 years in the labour movement and close to 10 years experience in Health and Safety.

View details >
Picture of Jody Young

Jody Young

President & Chief Executive Officer

Jody is a health and safety leader with over 30 years of experience in both public and private sectors. Most recently, she held the role of

View details >

Lori Cornwall

Vice Chair & Human Resources Committee Chair

Lori is an experienced commercial and regulatory lawyer and an active volunteer.

View details >

Marjan Pouran

Corporate Director

WSPS Board Member Marjan Pouran has over 20 years of technology and leadership experience, she has been serving on boards for last 10 years across for-profit and not-for-profit

View details >
Picture of Matthew Allen

Matthew Allen

Strategic ESG & TIC Executive, Engineer

Matthew is a new member of the WSPS Board of Directors and brings his experience as a Professional Engineer (P.Eng.), Certified Health & Safety Consultant (CHSC)

View details >

Nicola McGovern

Director, Environment, Health & Safety, Acklands-Grainger Inc.

WSPS board member Nicola McGovern is an effective senior leader, compliance professional and advisor with over 12 years' experience in environment, health & safety

View details >

Russ Whitehead

Assistant Deputy Minister (Retired)

Russ is an experienced former Ontario Public Sector executive with proven success in leading transformational initiatives and delivering

View details >

Tony Thoma

Governance Committee Chair

WSPS board member Tony Thoma's experiences include senior-level positions in academia and industry including: Dean of Engineering Technology, VP operations

View details >
Picture of Viren Patel

Viren Patel

Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant (CPA, CA), Corporate Development (M&A)

Viren is a Chartered Professional Accountant, Chartered Accountant (CPA, CA) and currently a Corporate Development (M&A) professional at Scotiabank.

View details >

Influence. Advocate. Transform.

Learn About Our Candidate Conflict of Interest Policy

As part of the our Director Recruitment policy, all director candidates must consider possible conflicts of interest with WSPS.

Learn More

Information for Prospective Board Applicants

Intrigued with the possibility of becoming a WSPS board member, but have questions?

Learn more about becoming a board member today.

Code of Business Conduct & Ethics

To guide and govern WSPS Board Director conduct and relations with WSPS management, a Code of Business Conduct and Ethics policy document has been developed that contains and expands on the following individual policies:

  • Code of Ethics
  • Conflict of Interest
  • Respect in the Workplace (Harassment, Bullying & Violence)
  • Board Relations with Management

Learn More

Live Chat