Prevention System Updates

Day of Mourning Statement from Prevention Council

Release Date:  Apr 27, 2021

Ontario's Prevention Council Chair released the statement below today:

April 28th marks the annual National Day of Mourning in Canada. This is a day where we pay tribute and remember those who have lost their lives and their loved ones or suffered injury or illness on the job due to a work-related tragedy. In the current pandemic, which has taken many lives and changed the way we work, this day has all the more resonance.

As members of the Prevention Council, we are mandated to work as a strategic team to ensure we provide sound and actionable advice to government and Ontario's industries on the prevention of workplace injuries and occupational diseases in the Province of Ontario, and work diligently to make this our top priority.

This past year has been an unprecedented year for everyone. During these challenging times, we have seen unwavering commitment to workplace health and safety, and we thank you for your continued leadership. We encourage you to remain vigilant and continue to follow the occupational health and safety procedures in your workplaces as well as the COVID-19 guidance and resources issued by the ministry. Please also remember the value and importance of involving your Joint Health and Safety Committee and/or Health and Safety Representative in identifying and addressing health and safety concerns specific to your workplace.

As leaders in occupational health and safety, we encourage you to acknowledge this day within the workplace, but also to collectively use this time to reflect and renew our commitment to eliminating preventable workplace incidents and illnesses in Ontario's workplaces.

Blair Allin
National Health and Safety Representative, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers

Brian Arnold
Fire Chief, Cambridge Fire Department

Patrick Bourgeois
Construction Manager, Peter Kiewit Sons ULC

John Bourke
Business Manager/Financial Secretary, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers

Stephen Chaplin
Vice President of Health, Safety & Environment, EllisDon

Rodney Cook
Vice President Workplace Health and Safety Services, WSIB

Michael Dauncey
Director Health and Safety Corporate, Mattamy Homes

Cora DeMarco
Manager, Technica Mining

Colin de Raaf
Director of Training, CLA

Daniel Fleming
Manager, Training and Development GTA, NORCAT

Ron Kelusky
Chief Prevention Officer, Ministry of Labour, Training, Skills and Development

Dr. Isra Levy
Vice President of Medical Affairs and Innovation, Canadian Blood Services

Bill Mader
Insulator, Local 95

Erin Oliver (Chair)
Vice President of Health, Safety and Sustainability, Modern Niagara Group Inc.

Patricia Pereira Janicas
Director, Health & Safety, Kenaidan Contracting Ltd

Dustin Philp
Plant Chairperson, Tormont-Concord Unifor Local 112

Sandro Pinto
Executive Director, LiUNA Local 183

Peter Rowe
Director, Chair of the Regulatory Committee, Ontario Petroleum Institute

James St. John
Business Manager/Financial Secretary, Central Ontario Building Trades

Roger Tickner
President, Tickner and Associates Inc


Disponible en français